Chevron Afghan #1

The quest to make my sister an afghan for her birthday has come to an end. After trying out the lark’s foot and Catherine’s wheel stitch to no success, I decided to go for something a lot simpler. There’s many online tutorials on how to crochet a chevron ripple. I used a pattern by The Designers of Bernat Yarns with a few of my own adjustments. The rows are done in single crochet so it takes a while to build up but the pattern itself is easy to remember.

IMG_5704

The blanket is just lap size. I used a 5 mm hook and 8 ply wool. With my tension, a 100g ball of yarn makes up two rows of colour. Each colour is made up of 10 rows of single crochet. I chained 240 at the start to get a finished width of 88 cm (approx.). The length measures approx. 96 cm, from top peak to bottom peak.

IMG_5711

IMG_5724

The afghan took me two weeks to make. I plan on making another one in just two alternating colours with a bigger hook size so that it works up faster! Here’s the afghan on my couch, kind of matches my paint chip mosaic.

IMG_5645

About mishellsoup

Designer / Crafter

10 comments

  1. I really like the colors you chose.. .Nice work!

    • Thanks Elena! Nice blog you got going there. Your 40 years of crocheting is admirable. I learnt to first crochet when I was young too and only just picked it up again last year. Since then, I haven’t been able to put my hook down!

  2. Paige

    Would you tell me what that color blue is and brand please?!

    • Hi Paige. The navy blue? I don’t have the labels anymore but managed to dig out a pic I took of all the yarn before I begun the project. It’s Moda Vera Marvel, COL 1016, I think – can’t really make it out. Let me know if you want the pic for inspection. Hope that helps.

  3. JoAnn

    Do you have a video on how you made it?

Leave a Reply

