Paint Chip Mosaic Frenzy

Over the years, I’ve been through countless phases. Craft phases. My soul thrives on new projects. When I fall in love with a craft, I commit myself wholeheartedly to it (in the beginning anyway). An overindulgence in craft. That is my weakness, if such a thing does exist.

What got me started on the next phase was my first mosaic of Marilyn Monroe. This was just the beginning. For Christmas, I made A3 sized paint chip mosaics for my three younger siblings. I asked them what their favourite video game characters were, then set off on a journey to create them into mosaics. This is how they turned out.

The characters are Bulbasuar, Ultimate Chimera and Sonic the Hedgehog.

IMG_4105

IMG_4075-2

IMG_4123

I ran short of time and didn’t end up completing the background for Bulbasaur. My sister didn’t mind though, it gives the effect that Bulbasaur just landed on the paper.

IMG_4095

Here are some shots of the process:

IMG_3947

I used a perler bead sprite as a guide to create Sonic the Hedgehog.

IMG_3962  

IMG_4053

IMG_4052

Cross stitch patterns were used as a guide to create Bulbasaur and Ultimate Chimera.

IMG_4083     IMG_4090

About mishellsoup

Designer / Crafter

Leave a Reply

